Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find it! How to find resources at the library

How to find all the library things

Introduction to Internet Archives

The Internet Archive is an American digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge". It provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books. In addition to its archiving function, the Archive is an activist organization, advocating a free and open Internet.

 

For help with borrowing from Internet Archive, see their FAQ.

How do I get set up to borrow books through archive.org?

Follow these steps:

1. Sign up for an archive.org account

 Create_account_page.png

2. Find a book to borrow

There are a number of ways to find a book.

Click on the text icon text_icon.png on the top left-hand corner of the black bar, or you can click on Books to BorrowOpen Library (which has suggested books and categories), or any of the featured texts at the top of the page.

You can also enter the title of the book or the author into the Search bar.

Find_a_book.png

 

3. Borrow the book

Click on the book you would like to borrow. You will be taken to the item page and will be given the option to Borrow This book. Click on Borrow this Book. (If the book is on loan, you will be given an option to Join Waitlist)

Borrow_book.png

4. If a BookReader edition is available, you can read it instantly online in your web browser. Other formats will require that you download a file and open it in Adobe Digital Editions. You will be able to read in full screen by clicking on the expand icon.

 

Expand_to_full_screen.png

5. Some eBooks require Adobe Digital Editions (This is where you can read the books you've borrowed, manage your current loans, or return books). 

Get an Adobe.com account (If you create an Adobe account, you can access your library from a variety of locations. If not, your loans will be tethered to a specific computer or device.)

Want to sign up for an Internet Archive account? Archive.org account

Phone: (515) 271-1537

Email: library.dmu.edu