Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
UNLIMITED ACCESS DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC; otherwise the libraries subscription is for 2 Simultaneous Users. Please log off when you are done searching as a courtesy to others.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus includes Medline as well as most of the references in Embase.
Learn about mobile access | PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE®, the NLM® database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journals. A DMU Library icon will display in if you use this customized URL to PubMed. Click on the purple DMU Library icon to connect to article pdf's when the Library has a subscription, or to have the option to order the article through Interlibrary loan.
Key Sources for Global Health Data & Statistics (Free)
"CDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more."
"The Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy (CDDEP) was founded with the objective of using research to support better decision-making in health policy. The CDDEP team employs a range of expertise—including economics, epidemiology, disease modeling, risk analysis, and statistics—to produce actionable, policy-oriented studies on malaria, antibiotic resistance, disease control priorities, environmental health, alcohol and tobacco, and various other diseases"
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. The Eurostat website provides direct and free of charge online access to all of Eurostat's statistical databases and electronic publications.
"The Fogarty International Center is dedicated to advancing the mission of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) by supporting and facilitating global health research conducted by U.S. and international investigators, building partnerships between health research institutions in the U.S. and abroad, and training the next generation of scientists to address global health needs."
The Global Burden of Disease (GBD) approach is a systematic, scientific effort to quantify the comparative magnitude of health loss over time due to diseases, injuries, and risk factors by age, sex, and geography. GDB Compare is an online tool that visualizes data from the latest Global Burden of Diseases, Injuries, and Risk Factors Study 2010 (GBD 2010). Users can view the data in a bar chart, heat map, time or age plot, or tree map. They customize the metric (health indicator), place, age group and sex. They can also change the unit of measurement and metric. This tool displays two charts at once for easy comparisons. The charts can be shared with unique links, through screenshots, and on social networks,
The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME), an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.
This site offers a wide variety of health data from over 200 countries. Each country has a profile page which lists the data sets from that country, plus basic information like population and development status. Users can search for data by data type, keyword, organization, and more. Most of the data lives on other sites, but GHDx provides background information on the data set source and the citation. IHME has some original datasets they produce, and that users can download to Excel and CSV formats.
“The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics, including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, and equity among others. In addition, the GHO provides online access to WHO’s annual summary of health-related data for its 194 member states: the World Health Statistics 2012.”
"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public."