Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
UNLIMITED ACCESS DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC; otherwise the libraries subscription is for 2 Simultaneous Users. Please log off when you are done searching as a courtesy to others.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Drinking water comes from a variety of sources including public water systems, private wells, or bottled water. Ensuring safe and healthy drinking water may be as simple as turning on the tap from an EPA-regulated public water system. Other water sources may need a water filter, a check on water fluoridation, or an inspection to ensure a septic tank is not too close to a private well. It is important to know where drinking water comes from, how it’s been treated, and if it's safe to drink.
The way we design and build our communities can affect our physical and mental health. Healthy community design integrates evidence-based health strategies into community planning, transportation, and land-use decisions. CDC’s Healthy Community Design Initiative is part of the National Center for Environmental Health's Division of Emergency and Environmental Health Services.
The Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program provides a comprehensive web site with links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources such as the Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®), an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases that are available free of charge on the web.
"EJSCREEN is an environmental justice mapping and screening tool that provides EPA with a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators. EJSCREEN users choose a geographic area; the tool then provides demographic and environmental information for that area. All of the EJSCREEN indicators are publicly-available data. EJSCREEN simply provides a way to display this information and includes a method for combining environmental and demographic indicators into EJ indexes. "
The Healthy People 2020 Environmental Health objectives focus on 6 themes, each of which highlights an element of environmental health: 1.Outdoor air quality 2. Surface and ground water quality 3.Toxic substances and hazardous wastes 4. Homes and communities 5.Infrastructure and surveillance 6. Global environmental health