Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PubMed

The premier journal article citation database for the biomedical sciences

What is PubMed?

Nerdy fun fact:  While Medline and PubMed are often used as interchangeable terms, they are technically not the same thing. Medline is the largest component (approximately 90%) of PubMed. More specifically, Medline is the portion of PubMed that has been indexed with MeSH (medical subject headings).  You can also search the Medline file on other platforms. Alternate options for searching Medline:

  • Medline on Ebsco. This could be convenient if you also want to search another database, like Business Source Complete, at the same time.
  • Scopus also includes the Medline file.  This resource also includes citations from  Embase.

Changes to Your MyNCBI Account

Date: July 19, 2021 at 6:17:33 PM CDT

Do you log into NCBI to use MyNCBI, SciENcv, or MyBibliography? Do you submit data to NCBI? Beginning in June 2021, there will be changes to how you log into these and all other NCBI accounts. Read below for the details.

What’s happening?
NCBI is transitioning from using local account passwords (the password you created at NCBI) for logging into NCBI to using only 3rd-party logins (your username and password from Google, Login.gov, ORCiD, your university or research institution account, etc).

What about my account data?
This change will NOT affect the data in your account, such as your MyBibliography, SciENcv, or submission data. You will also keep your NCBI Username, you just won’t be able to log in with it anymore.

Why is this happening?
NIH, NLM, and NCBI take your privacy and security very seriously. Transitioning to 3rd parties who have industry-standard security practices ensures that you have the highest level of security and enables us to focus our resources on improving your experience once you log in.

Which 3rd party logins can I use?
We have over 4000 3rd-party options for you to choose from, including Login.gov, ORCiD, Google, Microsoft, and InCommon and EduGain affiliated organizations. See:

Choosing the Best 3rd-Party Option for You

What is happening when?
Summer 2021 -
As of June 22, users are no longer be able to create an account with an NCBI-managed password. Shortly afterward, we will be launching a software tool (“wizard”) to walk you through the process of disabling your NCBI password and linking a 3rd-party login. We are rolling out the wizard gradually this summer, so you may not see it right away.

June 2022 - Any accounts without valid 3rd-party logins linked to them will no longer be accessible through NCBI login pages. The data in the accounts will be preserved and procedures will be available for data recovery.

What do I need to do?
We suggest linking at least one 3rd-party login to your account now and starting to use it to log into NCBI. By acting now, you will ensure no difficulties or delays in accessing your accounts come June 2022 when special procedures will be required to access accounts without linked 3rd-party logins. For directions, see:

How do I link 3rd-party logins to my NCBI account?

We are here to help!
Read our NCBI Account Login FAQs for more information. If you have any questions or encounter issues, you can always write us at the Help Desk or email us at info@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.

Browzine & LibKey Nomad - Another Option for Access to Journals from the library

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome that provides instant links to full text content for articles as you do research on the web.
Nomad figures out the fastest path to  library or open access content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also
performed in-line on sites like PubMed!  LIbKey is brought to you by the same folks who created Browzine.

screenshot libkey

 

Set up is Easy!

1. Using your Google Chrome browser, visit www.LibKeyNomad.com

2. Click "Add to Chrome"

libgkey nomad in google store

 

 

 

3. Search for and select Des Moines University in the drop down menu.

Once installed, you can adjust your options/settings so LIbKey is active all the time or ony when you want the add in enabled in services like PubMed.

libkey in pubmed

Phone: (515) 271-1537

Email: library.dmu.edu