Skip to main content

Circulation Policies

Who Can Borrow What and For How Long

Borrowing and returning items

All Reserve items, including books, bones, anatomical models, and study aids are located behind the circulation desk. Items in the Board Review collection are located behind the circulation desk as well. Items in the DMU, DMU Recommended (dmure), and journal collections can be found on open shelves in the library. And be sure to check out our Leisure Reading materials, located near the card catalog computers.

Please present your student ID badge at the circulation desk to check out materials.

Please return or renew items on or before the date or time they are due.

Items that are due on a certain day, but not at a certain time, can be returned either to the circulation desk or to the book drop, which is located right outside the Library entrance.

When returning Reserve materials, please be sure to bring items to the circulation desk so that they can be checked in at the time they are returned.

If materials are overdue, fines will accrue to your patron account. The day after a fine is incurred, you will receive email notification of the fine. Fines totaling $10 or more will be reported to the Accounting department and added to your student account. Please read more about fines at http://lib.dmu.edu/policies/circulation/fines

 

Apply for a job working in the Library

Are you interested in working in the Library? If you are currently enrolled in a full-time, on-campus program, and have a FAFSA on file with the Financial Aid office, we encourage you to apply. You must be eligible to receive Federal Work Study funds. Please fill out and submit our application.

Loan periods

DMU & DMU Recommended (Open-Shelf) Collection

2 weeks

Reserve Collection* (except headphones, bookstand and electronics)

2 hours

3-Day Reserve 3 days

Board Review Collection

7 days

Journals /Newsletters

3 days

Leisure Reading Collection

3 weeks

Bookstands/Clipboards/Games

Due back at 10:55 p.m. on day of checkout

Headphones/White-noise machines

Due back at 10:55 p.m. on day of checkout

DVD Drives

Due back at 10:55 p.m. on day of checkout  Must stay in the Library

White Boards and packets of markers/erasers

Due back at 10:55 p.m. on day of checkout  Must stay in the Library

*Print materials in the Reserve collection check out overnight after 9:00 p.m., and are due back at 10:00 a.m. on the following day. Non-print Items in the Reserve collection (such as bones) do not check out overnight. Mediascape adapters are for use in room 280 only, and must be returned when you are done using that room.

Des Moines University Library
library@dmu.edu
515-271-1537