What is Scopus?
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus includes Medline as well as most of the references in Embase.
Scopus claims to be the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (mostly journals) with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus content focuses mostly on peer reviewed journals, with citation records from Medline as well as most of the content from Embase. Scopus indexes over 25,000 serial titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. While not a major focus, the database also includes citations to trade journals, book series, books, and conference materials.
Peer Review
Scopus claims to be "the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities." So in theory, almost everything you find in this database should be from a refereed/peer reviewed source. Scopus does not provide a function to remove the admittedly small number of non-peer reviewed titles. Elsevier, the publisher, does provide a full title list (at the bottom of the website), but this master list does not indicate whether a journal is refereed or not. If you want to double check you will need to locate the journal on a publishers website to see if the title self identifies as peer reviewed publication.
Keep up with Scopus
Interested in the latest updates regarding the Scopus database?