Library Guides: Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO): USMLE/COMLEX

Board Test Question Databanks

ExamMaster
Exam Master® is designed to provide the most realistic and effective exam preparation possible. Tests Include Medical Subject Reviews, COMLEX I, USMLE Step 1, 2, & 3 question banks, PANCE/PANRE Practice Exams, & certification review for Family Medicine, General Pediatrics, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, SPEX (Special Purpose Examination).
BoardVitals
BoardVitals is an exam preparation database that provides review questions for the COMLEX 1, USMLE 1-3, and NBME shelf exams.

StatPearls
StatPearls is an exam preparation database that provides review questions for the COMLEX 2 and 3.

NOTE: New users will need to create a StatPearls account using your @dmu.edu email address. When you create an account on the StatPearls site, you will be sent a confirmation email. Click the link in the email and your account will be activated. Once logged in to StatPearls, it is possible to create customized practice tests, see explanations with each answer, and view statistics as well as suggested questions based on performance.
AccessMedicine
Create a custom quiz or flashcards from key texts in AccessMedicine.
To access review questions:
1. click above link and sign in using DMU login credentials/create a free MyAccess profile
2. select "review questions" from the study tools drop-down menu
3. select clinical practice & board review
4. choose desired resource from which to generate multiple-choice quizzes
AccessEmergency Medicine
Access Neurology
Access Neurology is your go-to Access collection in neurology featuring hundreds of books, review questions, cases, videos, interactive modules, and more.
Mobile ACCESS app is available for the suite of Access resources for Apple and Android devices.

Review questions, self assessment, board review, cases, videos (including a psychiatric case based library organized by symptom), audio, study tools (including interactive features and 3D animations), books, a drug database, and patient handouts.
AccessOBGYN
AccessObGyn can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to sonography videos and cases, a growing list of Williams animations, and our expanding library of landmark obstetrics and gynecology references from McGraw-Hill Medical that will establish a solid base for learning; and allow practicing obstetricians and gynecologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification.
Mobile ACCESS app is available for the suite of Access resources for Apple and Android devices.
AccessPediatrics
AccessPediatrics can help medical students to excel in their clerkship through use of use videos, cases, and Q&A; assist residents with leading pediatric textbooks and vignette style exam prep that will establish an important foundation for future practice, and allow practicing pediatricians to quickly search for relevant clinical information.
Mobile ACCESS app is available for the suite of Access resources for Apple and Android devices.
AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
Mobile ACCESS app is available for the suite of Access resources for Apple and Android devices.
AccessSurgery
Access to over 20 textbooks, images, procedural videos, algorithms, differential diagnosis, calculators, residency competencies, and clerkship targeted information for 3rd and 4th-year medical students.
Mobile ACCESS app is available for the suite of Access resources for Apple and Android devices.

TRUELEARN Combank
Contains 2,400+ high-yield COMLEX Level 1 practice questions, including hundreds of OMM questions ($)
Access to this resource is provided by DMU free of charge for current MS2 students
Dirty Medicine - High Yield Video Q-Bank
Consists of a playlist of 35 short videos presenting a variety of clinical vignettes with answer choices and explanations

NBME Shelf Exams

(Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, OBGYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery)

Popular Board Review Books

Case Files Collection
Access Medicine's Case Files Collection includes all of the content from the Case Files book series. Students have access to an extensive collection of carefully crafted cases designed to simulate the clinical approach and decision-making.

First Aid Book Series
Popular board preparation materials.
First Aid Book Series - USMLE specific
USMLE step 1, 2, & 3
MedOne USMLE eBook Resources
Q&A Bank: Question and Answer sets from 15 titles that mirror exam topics that students will frequently encounter throughout their medical school curriculum.

Board Review Series (BRS)
Located in the LWW Health library, The Board Review Series is aimed at providing basic knowledge as it relates to clinical situations and focuses on the content students need to know for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. The Board Review Series Health Library covers all the core basic sciences and affords an efficient method of studying by providing content in an easy-to-digest outline format containing review questions with accompanying answers and detailed explanations—chapter exams and a comprehensive exam for each text—clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables

Physeo Collection
Physeo preparation textbooks can be used for studying for USMLE and the COMLEX. These contain practice exercises and are supplementary workbooks to Physeo's conceptual video lectures, which are available at www.physeo.com.

Please search the library discovery system for other print and digital board review books.

Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix eLibrary provides a wide range of study materials to help test-takers, including flashcards, practice tests, and study guides; create an account to access and save progress. Provides access to practice tests and flashcards for USMLE Step 1.
Mometrix is provided to us by the State Library of Iowa.
To access database:
- Click on the “Access Database” link.
- Register for an Account. Must be in Iowa. If you are out of state, contact the library to register for an account.
- Create an Account with your DMU email address.
- Verify your account with the email that is sent to you.
- You will be given access and allowed to choose from many different topics… Some of interest include: Medical Technology, Nutrition, Personal Fitness, Nursing, Graduate & Professional School, and Medical Professional.
DMU Discovery

All print and digital resources, flashcards, anatomical models and more can be accessed from Discovery.

USMLE Step 1 Lecture Notes 2021: 7-Book Set by Kaplan Medical
Call Number: Board Review Collection WB 18.2 U75 2021

ISBN: 9781506259345

Publication Date: 2020

Kaplan Medical's USMLE Step 1 Lecture Notes 2021: 7-Book Set offers in-depth review with a focus on high-yield topics in every discipline--a comprehensive approach that will help you deepen your understanding while focusing your efforts where they'll count the most.
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2023 by Anup Chalise; Panagiotis Kaparaliotis; Tao Le; Vikas Bhushan; Connie Qiu
ISBN: 9781264946624

Publication Date: 2023-01-18

The time-tested, most popular board prep resource, revised as always to reflect the newest Step 1 test plan and provide the latest test-taking advice First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 is a veritable blueprint for preparing for this critical exam, revealing all the content you'll encounter on test day. This unmatched text is written by carefully chosen students who excelled on the Step 1 exam, it's reviewed by top faculty--all the ensure that the content is relevant, high-yield, and accurate--and it's organized and formatted in ways that help you easily hone in on the most important content. First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 is filled with 1,000 color clinical images, including more depicting diverse patients; 1,300+ high-yield facts and mnemonics organized into basic principles and organ system; and test-taking advice from students who have passed the exam. It provides up to date information about critical concepts and organ systems, including: Biochemistry Immunology Microbiology Pathology Pharmacology Cardiovascular system Endocrine system Gastrointestinal system Neurology and Special Senses Psychiatry Reproduction There's a reason for the longstanding success of First Aid for the USMLE Step 1. Once you open the 2023 edition, you'll instantly understand why it's a resource you can't be without!

DOsage Podcast

DOsage Podcast: Board Prep Edition
Studying for COMLEX or USMLE? You don't have to do it alone. This is a podcast that delivers just the right dose of study strategies for DMU Osteopathic Medical Students.

Need Help with Test Taking Strategies and Skills?

Academic Support

Academic Support assists DMU students with a broad range of student academic services and programs designed to help learners achieve their academic and personal goals. Students will be provided with individual and group opportunities needed to become successful, active learners.

Email:academicsupport@dmu.edu

Feeling Anxious?

Beat Your Boards!
Tame your anxiety with the Student Counseling Center!

Content Review - Video Resources

Ninja Nerd
Ninja Nerd website includes many videos reviewing a wide variety of commonly-tested subjects. All videos are free on the website or via YouTube. Can also pay for membership to include notes and guides.
Dirty Medicine
Dirty Medicine is a YouTube Channel with videos for a variety of high-yield topics and video practice questions.
Handwritten Tutorials
Handwritten Tutorials is a channel that explains anatomical and biochemical concepts through drawing. Good for people who prefer visualization.
Medicosis Perfectionalis
Medicosis Perfectionalis channel describes various medical concepts in a brief, colorful manner.

Osmosis
Includes expert-reviewed videos, decision-making tree flowcharts for diagnosis, flashcards, practice quizzes, high-yield notes for the Basic Sciences, and a customizable quiz builder to help you ace your boards.
Important: This resource uses SSO. You must use your firstname.lastname @dmu email. Otherwise your account will not work.
Mobile app available for Apple devices and Android devices.

The mobile app will sign you in with SSO. The first time you login, it will send you a verification email.

OMM Review

Dirty Medicine - OMM Video Review Course
OMM video review course consisting of 23 short videos available on YouTube
Online MedEd - OMM Video Review Series
Free video access to over 250 topics in 19 specialties. Registration is free, but premium features require a subscription.

OMT Review by Robert Savarese (Editor); Adeleke Adesina (Contribution by); John Capobianco (Contribution by); Grant Reed (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780692157565

Publication Date: 2018-10-01

Available for check-out at DMU Library. A comprehensive review in Osteopathic Medicine featuring COMLEX online question books and High Yield OMM COMLEX Q & A.