Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO): Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) Home

The Des Moines University (DMU) Archives and Special Collections contain the history of DMU and the history of Osteopathic Medicine spanning over its 100+ years of existence.

Request help with paper writing and/or citation guidance.

A podcast about Osteopathy with Steve Paulus, DO & Bonnie Gintis, DO. Offers their wisdom as clinicians, teachers, writers, and storytellers with a combined 60+ years of experience. They interweave the philosophy of Osteopathy with clinical relevance and reveal their inner vision into the real-world workings of how they practice and live the philosophy of Osteopathy.

Quickly identify your next research target using the interactive pathways, diagrams, guides and cellular landscapes in each of these collections. These resources provide insights into relevant cellular processes, structures and related diseases to help you identify related proteins and cellular mechanisms to investigate in your research. Each collection has been developed and curated by Cell Signaling Technology scientists and outside experts to provide current and useful tools to aid your particular area of research.

Ostmed.DR is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine and VTLS, Inc. in 2006. OSTMED.DR® builds upon OSTMED®, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine. OSTMED® was sponsored by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) and originally developed by the Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library of the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth (UNTHSC-FW) along with the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine’s (KCOM) A.T. Still Memorial Library with contract approval in June 1997. While OSTMED® was a bibliographic citation index with abstracts only, OSTMED.DR® provides full text for much content within the repository, as well as being full-text indexed and searchable. OSTMED.DR® is endorsed by the AOA and AACOM and funded by VCOM through the Harvey W. Peters Foundation.

The collections of the Museum of Osteopathic Medicine include more than 100,000 objects, photographs, documents, and books dating from the early 1800s to the present (focused mainly on 1870–1940).