Library Guides: Media for Class Presentations: Inclusive Representation: Home

An Indigenous Two-Spirit person calls the elevator up by tapping the floor button with their prosthetic leg.

Photo attribution: From Disabled and Here, by Chona Kasinger.

Disabled and Here

Library Resources

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
Learn about mobile access | Searchable by symptoms, signs, and patient factors, VisualDx includes more than 3,000 diagnoses and over 41,000 images, providing a customized, graphical differential diagnosis of an infectious, immunologic, metabolic, nutritional, psychiatric, or genetic disease.

From the homepage, click on the Dermatology Skin of Color icon to begin building a differential diagnosis. The lesion types display in darker skin tones. Once you enter your findings, your differential diagnosis shows dark skin images first. However, you can easily toggle between skin of color and all skin types

Ethnic Dermatology by Ophelia E. Dadzie; Antoine Petit; Andrew F. Alexis ETHNIC DERMATOLOGY Principles and Practice Richly pigmented skin is the most common skin type internationally Historically, dermatology has focused on white skin. But rich pigmentation can lead to differences in presentation, disease course and outcome, and reaction to treatment. Some dermatologic conditions are seen either predominantly or exclusively in richly pigmented skin. Ethnic Dermatology: Principles and Practice provides a practical approach to the dermatology of nonwhite skin. Written from a global perspective to include Asian, African-Caribbean and North African skin types, it covers all the bases of dermatology including: Grading scales in dermatologic disease Pediatric dermatology Dermatology and systemic disease Drug eruptions Hair and scalp disorders Cosmetic dermatology. With a central focus on practical action from an international cast of authors, Ethnic Dermatology: Principles and Practice gives you the clinical tools you need when skin color matters.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118497845
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color 2/e by A. Paul Kelly; Henry Lim; Ana Maria Anido Serrano; Susan C. Taylor
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780071805520
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
Downloadable images include a citation.
Pediatric Skin of Color by Nanette B. Silverberg (Editor); Carola Durán-McKinster (Editor); Yong-Kwang Tay (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781461466543
Publication Date: 2015-03-05

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
The Communication and Interpersonal Skills collection demonstrates fundamental interpersonal and communication techniques often demonstrated in clinical encounters and contains examples for working with LGBTQ+ adults, patients with disabilities, adolescents, older adults, and using gender pronouns and non-stigmatizing language.

Cultural Competency in Healthcare
This guide represents a collaborative effort between the library and the Office of Multicultural Affairs. The purpose of this guide is to complement and provide additional resources in support of the Diversity Health Series. The Diversity Health Series was developed by Kaiser Permanente and is used as a teaching tool at Des Moines University. Additionally, resources are available to support respective DMU programs in culturally competent health care education. For more information please contact the Dr. Rich Salas at 515-271-1709.

Other Resources

Mind the Gap: A Handbook of Clinical Signs in Black and Brown Skin
Free downloadable eBook. Website also contains a searchable database of conditions.
Diverse Images and Audiovisuals for Educating Health Professionals
Excellent collection of media that highlights diversity in multiple forms: (dis)ability, race, gender, sexuality, age, and more. Created by Pam Pierce at Oregon Health & Science University Library.
Positive Exposure
POSITIVE EXPOSURE promotes a more equitable and compassionate world where individuals and communities at risk of stigma and exclusion are understood, embraced and celebrated. Check out "Galleries" for images and media.
Inclusive Dermatology: Creating a Diverse Visual Atlas of Skin Conditions
From the UNM School of Medicine, this resource contains images of dermatological conditions in all skin types, with an emphasis on including those who have been traditionally excluded in medical education.
Skin Deep
A free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of pediatric medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public. *Please review "Use of Our Images" Policy.
Skin of Color Society Educational Video Library
The Skin of Color Society was established in 2004 by Susan C. Taylor, M.D. Its purpose is to promote awareness of, and excellence within, skin of color dermatology.

If you have additional resources you think would be appropriate for this guide, please contact the library.

Media for Class Presentations: Inclusive Representation: Home

A Note About Fair Use

Library Resources

Other Resources