Recommended Databases

Fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care.

Learn about mobile access.| Access to more than 75 medical titles, algorithms, diagnostic tools, clinical calculators, thousands of images, videos, and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and drug information.

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Located in the LWW Health library, The Board Review Series is aimed at providing basic knowledge as it relates to clinical situations and focuses on the content students need to know for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. The Board Review Series Health Library covers all the core basic sciences and affords an efficient method of studying by providing content in an easy-to-digest outline format containing review questions with accompanying answers and detailed explanations—chapter exams and a comprehensive exam for each text—clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables

BoardVitals is an exam preparation database that provides review questions for the AMPLE Parts 1 & 2, PANCE, and NBME shelf exams.

NOTE: New users will need to create a BoardVitals account using your @dmu.edu email address. When you create an account on the BoardVitals site, you will be sent a confirmation email. Click the link in the email and your account will be activated. Once logged in to BoardVitals, it is possible to create customized practice tests, see explanations with each answer, and view statistics as well as suggested questions based on performance.

Access Medicine's Case Files Collection includes all of the content from the Case Files book series. Students have access to an extensive collection of carefully crafted cases designed to simulate the clinical approach and decision-making.

Learn about mobile access - Clinical Key combines a broad range of resources within a single interface: Full-text journals & books; Medline citations; point-of-care clinical overviews; Procedure and surgical videos; Clinical Pharmacology drug monographs.

JoVE is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal and science education platform. 

The DMU Library subscribes to the following:

Science Education (Clinical Skills) 

• Physical Examination I
• Physical Examination II
• Physical Examination III
• Physical Examination IV
• Emergency Medicine and Critical Care
• Nursing Skills
• Coronavirus/COVID-19 Procedures

Research Collection

• Biochemistry
• Biology
• Cancer Research
• Developmental Biology
• Genetics
• Immunology & Infection
• Medicine
• Neuroscience

ebook collections in basic medical sciences, osteopathic medicine, physical examination, family medicine, ob/gyn and more, including cases and multimedia content. The popular Board Review Series and Made Incredibly Easy collections are also on this platform. You do not need to create a personal account to use this collection off-campus as long as you use the library URL.

Videos and point of care content to help you on your rotations. In addition to using the links provided by the library, you will also need to create a personal account with NEJM. Step 1: Access NEJM through the library. Step 2: Create a personal account. This account is not associated with DMU, so pick any account creation method that works for you.

Learn about mobile access | PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE®, the NLM® database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journals. A DMU Library icon will display in if you use this customized URL to PubMed. Click on the purple DMU Library icon to connect to article pdf's when the Library has a subscription, or to have the option to order the article through Interlibrary loan.

Scopus is an interdisciplinary citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus includes Medline as well as most of the references in Embase.

Learn about mobile access | UpToDate® is a physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. Includes easy-to-search graphics and a drug database and drug interactions tool (in partnership with Lexicomp®).

Visible Body has over 24,000 items in its visual database. These include: 3D models of anatomical structures and systems, physiology animations, pathology visualizations, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, pre-made flashcard decks, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more.