Skip to main content

DMU Discovery

Search across multiple library services

Search Box

The first place you are likely to encounter DMU Discovery is on the Library's homepage. Learn more about the different elements of the DMU Discovery search bar below.

1. Drop-Down Menu

This menu will allow you to choose how you want DMU Discovery to search for your keywords. The default is set to "keyword." This will tell DMU Discovery to look for any search terms you enter into the search box in the title, abstract, or the full text of a document when it is available. Choosing the default will bring back a broad range of search results because DMU Discovery is looking for your keywords in many different places. You can also choose "Title" from the drop-down menu to indicate you are searching for a particular journal article or book title. Lastly, you can choose "Author" from the drop-down menu to search for books and articles written by a specific author. 

2. Enter Your Search Terms

This space allows you to type the keywords for your search. Pro tip: DMU Discovery does an excellent job of finding your keywords in the title, abstract, and full text of the documents you may find, but it does not understand complete sentences or questions like, say, Google. Because of this, we recommend that you take your topic or question and break it down into smaller keywords that you'd like to see in the title, abstract, or the full-text version of the information you'd like to find. Having trouble? Click the "Ask Us" button on the side of this page or the "Ask-A-Librarian" link at the top of the DMU Discovery page!

3. Limiters

You can limit your searches in three ways from the DMU Discovery search bar on the Library's homepage. Note: You do not need to choose any limiters at the beginning of your search. Once you get to your list of search results, you'll have the opportunity to limit your search results as well.

  1. Full Text: this will limit your search results to only books and articles that we have full access to in the Library.
  2. Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals: this will limit your search results to only articles (no books!) that have been published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
  3. Book & eBooks: this will limit your search results to only books and ebooks. 

4. Search

Once you have decided on your keywords and selected your limiters (or no limiters!) you are ready to hit the search button to see your search results!

Advanced Search

Part One

If you'd like to be a little more specific in your searches, DMU Discovery also offers an Advanced Search. This page gives you several different options for combining and limiting your search results than with the DMU Discovery bar on the Library's homepage.

1/2. Multiple Search Spaces & Select a Field (optional)

The Advanced Search screen gives you three search spaces to enter your keywords. You'll also see that below or beside each search space the word "AND." These drop-down menus allow you to combine your keywords using the words AND/OR/NOT depending on how you'd like to expand or limit your search. Below is an example of one of the ways you can use AND/OR/NOT in your searches. You can also type AND/OR/NOT directly into the search boxes with your search terms. Make sure you capitalize AND/OR/NOT for DMU Discovery to combine your keywords the way you specify in the search boxes.

3. Ask-A-Librarian

If you are having trouble finding the information you need or something isn't working quite right, let us know! Click on the Ask-A-Librarian link and you'll be taken to our Ask-A-Librarian page. Leave us your contact information and let us know how we can help and we'll get back to you as quickly as we can!

Part Two

You'll notice that below the search spaces there are additional options to limit your search results before you begin the searching process. 

1/2. Search Modes and Expanders

  • Boolean/Phrase – Supports any Boolean searching or exact phrase searching. Boolean operators AND/OR/NOT need to be capitalized in search phrases for DMU Discovery to recognize them as Boolean searches. For more information on Booleans, click here.
  • Find all of my search terms – Auto AND all search terms entered (e.g. healthcare AND administration)
  • Find any of my search terms – Auto OR all search terms entered (e.g. healthcare OR administration)
  • SmartText Searching - You can copy and paste large chunks of text to search for results. SmartText Searching leverages a technology that summarizes text entered to the most relevant search terms then conducts the search. This search mode is not available for all databases.
  • Apply related words - Select this option to expand results to include true synonyms and plurals of your terms.
  • Also search within the full text of the articles - Select this option to search for your keywords within the full text of articles, as well as abstract and citation information. This applies only to words not qualified by a field code.
  • Apply equivalent subjects - Select this option to utilize mapped vocabulary terms to add precision to unqualified keyword searches.

3/4. Limit Your Results

  • Full Text - Limit your search results to only items we have full access to in the Library.
  • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - Limit your search results to only articles that have been published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. This limiter excludes books and ebooks from search results.
  • Title of Article or Book - This limiter will attempt to search for a particular journal article, book, or ebook using its title.
  • Author - This limiter will attempt to search for works by a specific author.
  • Books & eBooks - This will limit your search results to only books and ebooks in the Library's print and online collection. 
  • Journal Name - This limiter will limit your search results to only articles that are published in a specific journal.
  • Date Published - Use this limiter to limit search results to a specific time frame or set of dates.

Search Results

Viewing Search Results:

 

1. Search Results
You can find links to the abstracts of your search results in the middle of this page. There you can also find links to download the full text of the article(s) or book(s) you'd like to view. 

2. Refine Results
If you find that your search returns too many results or you'd like to be more specific in your search, you can use the "Refine Results" section to narrow your list of search results to those that may be more relevant to the information you are trying to find. Here you can limit your search results to only full text, to only books or ebooks, or to only journal articles that have been published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. See below for more information about these limiters.

3. Expand Your Search
Expand your search allows you to conduct your search in databases that are not included in DMU Discovery. By clicking one of the Expand Your Search icons, you'll be taken into that database and will run the same search you conducted in DMU Discovery.

Des Moines University Library
library@dmu.edu
515-271-1537